1 2 3 >  Last ›

Positivism?

CorB

CorB
Total Posts:  2
Joined  21-08-2011

21 August 2011 20:20

Hello, I’ve just joined this forum because I need some help with a discussion/debate I’m having with a theist on another forum. I’ve been debating the existence of god and religion for probably 6 years now and this is the first time in a long time where I’ve come across a theist who has presented an argument that I don’t know how to immediately counter. He’s making a philosophical argument when I know next to nothing about philosophy. So I’m hoping you guys can help me out.

Here’s some quotes from him:

The primary issue is that atheists are all raving positivists, most of them probalistic positivists at that. They accept basic premises that we reject. We accept basic premises that they reject. There is no evidence to be had in that argument, only opinion, and thus there is no real conclusion to the debate. The only thing they’ve got going for them is that they currently hold claims to the logical paradigm of the Western world and thus anyone who doesn’t agree with their philosophy is branded illogical. Nonsense.

Here’s where probalism kicks in and many people claim that between probalism and positivism lies the comfortable certainty of the nonexistence of a deity. It’s heuristics, ultimately, and heuristics aren’t at all the key to truth. Thus the only completely logical position (according to positivism itself, anyways) is that of the agnostic.

Well Pascal’s wager, after you factor in the whole of the matter anyways, is equally forgiving and spurning to all religious beliefs or lack thereof. We can’t divine certainty on the matter, something positivists fail to recognize even when their own logical framework indicates it; we have to rely on faith (the lot of us).