Demise of Free Will Premature

Stephen Greener

Stephen Greener
Total Posts:  1
Joined  16-08-2018

16 August 2018 06:19

Dear Sam Harris,
      I have watched a number of your appearances on YouTube and decided, as a result, to read several of your books.  It has been interesting to learn of your professional expertise in neuroscience which seem to have led to some of the positions I have seen you adopt on YouTube.

The book ‘Free Will’ has piqued my interest in your assertion that because the conscious self is only aware, after the fact, of an unconscious decision, that free will necessarily dies.

Of course this is interesting to say the least.  As an octogenarian engineer my reaction seems to be a bit different from yours.  Faced with this astonishing neuroscience input my reaction is to look for a different model of the self but perhaps yours is to throw out the baby with the bath water.

My conclusion from reading your piece is the realisation that the self does not work on the basis previously thought.  You keep zoning in on the proposition that we are simply lucky/unlucky in the playing out of our lives and that’s it.

Me feeling is that your treatment is too one dimensional.  While there is a bit of language in the book about memory one could not conclude that elsewhere you have talked at length about values and the importance that must be attached to the way we attach values to event states and propositions in our lives.

I see your treatment of Free Will as one dimensional because you return again and again to the mystery of where a thought came from and that we have no notion or control over it.  I suggest that this can actually be explored by examining the plasticity of the brain and seeing it as a feedback reinforcing engine with value judgements applied incrementally as the feedback is applied over time.