Love new name & logo. New jingle - not so much.

quarfie

quarfie
Total Posts:  1
Joined  30-01-2019

30 January 2019 07:35

Love new name & logo. New jingle - not so much.

Tried to add a poll twice but doesn’t seem to work…

[ Edited: 30 January 2019 07:38 by quarfie]

Antisocialdarwinist

Antisocialdarwinist
Total Posts:  6762
Joined  08-12-2006

30 January 2019 07:44

Agree!

espressomakerdeluxe

espressomakerdeluxe
Total Posts:  3
Joined  31-01-2019

31 January 2019 10:17

Love you Sam, but I must agree. I think this music is incorrect. I am a film and TV composer.

The down-home, folksy, acoustic guitar vibe is not inline with the forward-thinking ethos of the channel.
The exotic scales are giving it an Eastern spiritualist “woo-woo” vibe.

Here’s a little game you can play: close your eyes and imagine all the different types of shows to which this music could fit. Here’s what I read:

1) Exploring the Cuisine of India
2) Duck Hunting in the Jungle
3) Backpacking with Jim
4) The Art of Coffee Making

Another issue with this music is that it is harder to cut down if you just want, say, 2 seconds. You will generally be stuck waiting for the chord progression to resolve in order for an edit to sound natural. This is why, I presume, you required 2 separate cues: a longer intro and a little transitional “zinger”. It’s always better if you can use the same cue for both the long version and zinger because it brings unity to the brand identity.

I think the old music had it correct.

[ Edited: 31 January 2019 10:28 by espressomakerdeluxe]

GDKOpinionator

GDKOpinionator
Total Posts:  25
Joined  25-08-2016

05 February 2019 15:24

I agree with this sentiment.

The new jingle evokes confusion as to whether I am listening to Sam Harris, or the audio track from an old thirtySomething episode.  I mean no disrespect to the musician, but it doesn’t fit well into this setting.

Nhoj Morley

Nhoj Morley
Total Posts:  6362
Joined  22-02-2005

05 February 2019 16:31