1 2 3 > 

History Professor Juan Cole on “The End of Faith”

lynmc

lynmc
Total Posts:  462
Joined  03-08-2014

05 April 2019 19:48

https://www.juancole.com/2019/04/everything-harris-unbelievers.html

I don’t personally think Sam Harris is malicious, that is, deliberately and consciously spreading hate of Muslims.  “Blood libel” might be apt.  I’m not an expert on Middle Eastern history like Juan Cole, but even I could detect Harris’s Islamophobia and carelessness with facts.  His book is an insult to science and rationality.

icehorse

icehorse
Total Posts:  7618
Joined  22-02-2014

06 April 2019 09:29

lynmc - 05 April 2019 07:48 PM

I don’t personally think Sam Harris is malicious, that is, deliberately and consciously spreading hate of Muslims.  “Blood libel” might be apt.  I’m not an expert on Middle Eastern history like Juan Cole, but even I could detect Harris’s Islamophobia and carelessness with facts.  His book is an insult to science and rationality.

Cole might be an expert, but this article doesn’t demonstrate that. He starts be strawmanning Harris and then proceeds to pick and choose anecdotes in an attempt to build his case. It’s all very shaky and unconvincing.

BTW lyn, I’m still interested in your proposed solution for Israel, Palestine, and the ME in terms of religious freedom?

lynmc

lynmc
Joined  03-08-2014

08 April 2019 17:55

icehorse - 06 April 2019 09:29 AM
lynmc - 05 April 2019 07:48 PM

Cole might be an expert, but this article doesn’t demonstrate that. He starts be strawmanning Harris and then proceeds to pick and choose anecdotes in an attempt to build his case. It’s all very shaky and unconvincing.

BTW lyn, I’m still interested in your proposed solution for Israel, Palestine, and the ME in terms of religious freedom?