Nothing to go back too

jconcrete3rd

jconcrete3rd
Total Posts:  2
Joined  07-10-2019

07 October 2019 23:13

Hi All,

I’m hoping for a bit of insight into returning to an experience I had a few weeks ago while meditating.

I have been meditating for a couple of years now and have had a number of experiences over that time, I recently started using the waking up app and a few weeks back and I can’t recommend Sam’s scientific approach highly enough, his lessons are great in my opinion. Anyway while practicing I had this realization in awareness that there was nothing to go back too in my mind. Trying to explain this is really difficult but while concentrating on the breath, sound, itch whatever was arising, I noticed that I was waiting to return to a place once that sensation had finished, as if I was looking at the sensation from a “place” which I would return to once the object of concentration had passed, then from this place I would go/view the next sensation or thought that came up.

Once I noticed this center I was amazed what happened, although I know it sounds like nothing it was massive to actually fully be it, who was watching this itch? there was nothing, there was no boss to report back to label it and tell me what it was, there was nothing to go back too from whatever the object of concentration was. I was fully able to just experience whatever was happening, as there was nowhere else to go or be, just experience this now then the next, then the next, then the next. My mind wasn’t describing or labeling I wasn’t going towards anything, I was just watching and experiencing whatever was arising without effort, It was the first time I ever truly experienced no me fully and so hard to describe without sounding crazy or full of it.

Since then I’ve struggled to ‘get’ to it again, I’m probably reaching for it or wanting it subconsciously now, but don’t know how I glimpsed it but I know it’s the real deal,