Forgiveness: present and future views on it

MichaelSpeek

MichaelSpeek
Total Posts:  1
Joined  10-01-2020

10 January 2020 07:52

Hi all,

Let me start by stating the goal of this thread: to explore the meaning of forgiveness, its value (for the self, others, and society), and how this has changed over time and might change in the future.

Then, a brief introduction about myself: I am a student currently graduating from my Master’s Design for Interaction at Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands. The goal of my project is to come up with a design, pertaining to forgiveness, that contributes to human well-being. I’m glad I’m able to work on this topic academically, as it’s also a personal interest.

Currently, I’m researching how people think about forgiveness, and am therefore interviewing experts on the topic as well as non-experts who have given more thought to forgiveness than perhaps the average person. This forum seems like a good place to start. I’ve heard Sam Harris touch upon the topic in some interviews/debates, and have seen several threads here addressing forgiveness (although these are years old).

Forgiveness is an intriguing topic, and it’s interesting to see how this age-old concept has changed over time, and how parts of it have remained unchanged. I have interviewed two experts on the topic thus far, both propelled the notion that forgiveness has changed from being merely a virtue (the “right thing to do”) to something that can be considered self-healing, and allows people to leave behind hate and resentment. The adage of “forgive and forget” has thus evolved something more complex; forgiving to let go of negative feelings, but acknowledging the situation.